Four Songs

Four Songs was composed for mezzo-soprano Michelle Monroe. The texts included in this set are:

  1. Actaeon (1908) – Floyd Dell
  2. The Man He Killed (1902) – Thomas Hardy
  3. Submarine (1917) – Eugene O’Neill
  4. When You Are Old (1893) – W.B. Yeats

This composition was completed in Louisville on 3 August 2019. The songs were premiered by Professor Monroe and Dr. Robin Guy (piano) 10 March 2022 in Bengtson Hall at the University of Northern Iowa.