Three Short Pieces for two horns

Three Short Pieces for two horns in F was composed in 1980 in New York City and slightly revised in 1996 in Cedar Falls, Iowa.  The first of the three pieces is a Prelude, where the melodic lines of the two horns create a tapestry of lyrical counterpoint. Following this is a stately Dance which unfolds primarily as a canon between the two horns.  The Fanfare that ends the suite provides a rhythmic and energetic contrast to the proceeding two movements.

Running ca. 6:00, these pieces were premiered by Tom Friedman and Nancy Chau-Huie Yang at the Mannes College of Music on 24 November 1980.

The version of these three pieces for euphonium and tuba or for two tubas is published by Tuba-Euphonium Press and distributed by Cimarron Music Press.

2 French horns
Date completed:
1980; 1996
ca. 6:00
International Horn Society

Order Music

You may order this composition securely with PayPal. Please use the pull-down menu to select the format you prefer (PDF or printed copy) and click the "Add to Cart" button. You may also click "View Cart" which brings you to your "Cart" page. Prior to ordering, please review the Contact & Order page.