Symphony No. 1

Roger Zahab, conductor

Symphony No. 1 was composed in Louisville, Kentucky; begun in the fall of 2002, it was completed in the summer of 2004. This work unfolds in four movements. The first movement, marked Cantabile, is an expansive and lyrical opening that presents the tonality of the symphony (Eb), as well as many of its principal motives and harmonic relations. This movement continues attacca into the second movement (Lively).  This movement presents a vigorous contrast to the more elegant first movement, with energetic rhythms, aggressive punctuation and animated syncopation. The following slow movement, Lamentation, is then followed by a vivacious finale, marked Swift.

Dedicated to the composer Samuel Adler, Symphony No. 1 was premiered 20 February 2008 at Bellefield Hall Auditorium by the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Roger Zahab, conductor.

This composition may be purchased below or is available on a rental basis from:

The Edwin A. Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music
The Free Library of Philadelphia
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1116
tel (215) 686-5313

2121/2100/1 perc/pno/stgs
Date completed:
ca. 20:00
Fleisher Collection (rental agent) [search catalog for "Jeremy Beck"]

Order Music

You may order this composition securely with PayPal. Please use the pull-down menu to select the format you prefer (PDF or printed copy) and click the "Add to Cart" button. You may also click "View Cart" which brings you to your "Cart" page. Prior to ordering, please review the Contact & Order page.